WHEN IT'S ON

SEE ALL SHOW TIMES SEE FULL SCHEDULE

Cracklin' Kitchen

Mon. Dec 11, 9:00 PM
WGBH CREATE

Cracklin' Kitchen

Tue. Dec 12, 3:00 AM
WGBH CREATE

Tomatoes....You Say Heirloom, I Say Old Timey

Wed. Dec 13, 9:00 PM
WGBH CREATE

Season 5, Episode 9: Liver Lover

Vivian visits one of her favorite farmers and an eastern North Carolina restaurant known for its fried livers. She learns that not all livers are created equal, but are equally good for you. Back at home, Mrs. Scarlett prepares a humble, old-school dish of beef liver and onions, which inspires Vivian to introduce a fancy, controversial liver dish to the restaurant's menu.

Support for WGBH is provided by:
Become a WGBH sponsor
Sign Up

Sign-up for WGBH Food & Wine updates, Craving Boston updates, WGBH promotions, and previews of what's coming up on WGBH TV.
 

   

 

RELATED CONTENT


ChefSteps
Craving Boston (Official Website)
Kitchen Vignettes
Recipes

ABOUT A CHEF'S LIFE

Meet Chef Vivian Howard, who, with her husband Ben Knight, left the big city to open a fine dining restaurant in small-town Eastern North Carolina. Each week Vivian leaves the kitchen to stray into cornfields, strawberry patches and hog farms as she hunts down the ingredients that inspire her seasonal menus.

Visit the official website on PBS.org >> 

myWGBH

A Chef's Life Showtimes

Cracklin' Kitchen Mon. Dec 11 at 9:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Cracklin' Kitchen Tue. Dec 12 at 3:00 AM WGBH CREATE
Tomatoes....You Say Heirloom, I Say Old Timey Wed. Dec 13 at 9:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Tomatoes....You Say Heirloom, I Say Old Timey Thu. Dec 14 at 3:00 AM WGBH CREATE
A Chef's Life Fri. Dec 15 at 2:00 AM WGBX 44
A Chef's Life Fri. Dec 15 at 5:00 AM WGBH 2
The World Is Your Oyster Fri. Dec 15 at 9:00 PM WGBH CREATE
The World Is Your Oyster Sat. Dec 16 at 3:00 AM WGBH CREATE
A Chef's Life Sat. Dec 16 at 4:00 AM WGBX 44
A Chef's Life Sat. Dec 16 at 12:30 PM WGBH 2
Cracklin' Kitchen Sat. Dec 16 at 2:30 PM WGBH CREATE
Cracklin' Kitchen Sun. Dec 17 at 3:00 AM WGBH CREATE
A Chef's Life Sun. Dec 17 at 2:00 PM WGBX 44
Muscadine Time Mon. Dec 18 at 9:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Muscadine Time Tue. Dec 19 at 3:00 AM WGBH CREATE
A Road Trip for Rice Wed. Dec 20 at 9:00 PM WGBH CREATE
A Road Trip for Rice Thu. Dec 21 at 3:00 AM WGBH CREATE
A Peanut Pastime Fri. Dec 22 at 9:00 PM WGBH CREATE
A Peanut Pastime Sat. Dec 23 at 3:00 AM WGBH CREATE
A Chef's Life Sat. Dec 23 at 11:00 AM WGBH CREATE
Muscadine Time Sat. Dec 23 at 2:30 PM WGBH CREATE
A Chef's Life Sat. Dec 23 at 11:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Muscadine Time Sun. Dec 24 at 3:00 AM WGBH CREATE
A Chef's Life Sun. Dec 24 at 5:00 PM WGBH CREATE
A Chef's Life Mon. Dec 25 at 11:00 AM WGBH CREATE
A Chef's Life Mon. Dec 25 at 5:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Love Me Some Candied Yams! Mon. Dec 25 at 9:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Love Me Some Candied Yams! Tue. Dec 26 at 3:00 AM WGBH CREATE
Collard Green Queen Wed. Dec 27 at 9:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Collard Green Queen Thu. Dec 28 at 3:00 AM WGBH CREATE
The Buttermilk Belt Fri. Dec 29 at 9:00 PM WGBH CREATE
The Buttermilk Belt Sat. Dec 30 at 3:00 AM WGBH CREATE
Two-Mato Sat. Dec 30 at 11:30 AM WGBH 2
Shake, Rattle, and Pole (Beans) Sat. Dec 30 at 12:00 PM WGBH 2
A Chef's Life Sat. Dec 30 at 12:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Prolific Peppers Sat. Dec 30 at 12:30 PM WGBH 2
A Food Truck and a Pear Tree Sat. Dec 30 at 1:00 PM WGBH 2
WANTED: Broccoli Sat. Dec 30 at 1:30 PM WGBH 2
Bourbon Country Sat. Dec 30 at 2:00 PM WGBH 2
Persimmon Style Sat. Dec 30 at 2:30 PM WGBH 2
Love Me Some Candied Yams! Sat. Dec 30 at 2:30 PM WGBH CREATE
Chasing Trout Sat. Dec 30 at 3:00 PM WGBH 2
Liver Lover Sat. Dec 30 at 3:30 PM WGBH 2
King Cornbread Sat. Dec 30 at 4:00 PM WGBH 2
A Chef's Life Sat. Dec 30 at 4:30 PM WGBH 2
Love Me Some Candied Yams! Sun. Dec 31 at 3:00 AM WGBH CREATE
Have Yourself Some Moonshine Mon. Jan 1 at 9:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Have Yourself Some Moonshine Tue. Jan 2 at 3:00 AM WGBH CREATE
Blueberries and Boiling Over Wed. Jan 3 at 9:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Blueberries and Boiling Over Thu. Jan 4 at 3:00 AM WGBH CREATE

Forgot your my WGBH Password?

Not a problem. Just enter the username you used to register below.


Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Forgot your my WGBH Password?

Instructions on how to reset your Password have been sent.
Check your email to continue.

Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Forgot your my WGBH Username?

Not a problem. Just enter the email address you used to register below.


Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Forgot your my WGBH Username?

Instructions on how to reset your Username have been sent.
Check your email to continue.

Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Register for myWGBH