A production of  
  

WHEN IT'S ON

SEE ALL SHOW TIMES SEE FULL SCHEDULE

Todd English

Sat. Jun 23, 8:00 PM
WGBH CREATE

Lidia Bastianich

Sat. Jun 23, 9:30 PM
WGBH CREATE

Rick Bayless

Sat. Jun 23, 10:30 PM
WGBH CREATE

Simply Ming: Season 14 Sizzle Reel

Season 14 of the Daytime Emmy-winning SIMPLY MING kicks off with a technique demonstration, followed by the creation of two dishes — one prepared by a nationally renowned guest chef and one by the James Beard-and-Emmy Award-winning host Ming Tsai. Ming and his guests must design and improvise a meal with items found in Ming's East-West pantry along with a few surprise ingredients. This season's guest chefs include: Lidia Bastianich, Rocco DiSpirito, Daniel Boulud, Jacques Pepin, Rick Bayless and more, preparing an array of dishes and desserts from Scandinavian halibut, Maine mussels and a spinach pasta to a lobster risotto, crispy calamari and a dark and stormy soufflé from pastry master Johnny Iuzzini. And Ming goes back on the road this season, with eight very special episodes featuring exotic new dishes from Hawaii’s big island and Norway

More about Ming

Ming, shown here with his parents, Stephen and Iris Tsai, was raised in Dayton, Ohio, where he spent hours cooking alongside his mother and father at their family-owned restaurant. With a passion for food even after earning his undergraduate degree in mechanical engineering from Yale University, he spent time training in kitchens around the globe. In 1998, Ming opened Blue Ginger in Wellesley, Massachusetts, and impressed diners from Boston and beyond with the restaurant's innovative East/West cuisine. In its first year, Blue Ginger received three stars from the Boston Globe, was named "Best New Restaurant" by Boston magazine, was nominated by the James Beard Foundation as "Best New Restaurant 1998," and Esquire magazine honored Ming as "Chef of the Year 1998."  In early 2013, Ming opened his second restaurant Blue Dragon - an Asian gastro pub located in the Four Point Channel area of Boston. The tapas-style menu features Ming's East-West approach but now takes a twist on traditional pub favorites. Blue Dragon was named one of Esquire Magazine's "Best New Restaurants 2013" and one of Zagat's "24 new restaurants you need to know about around the US". In addition to his work at Blue Ginger and on his public television series Simply Ming, Ming is also the author of three cookbooks: Blue Ginger: East-Meets-West Cooking with Ming Tsai, Simply Ming, and Ming's Master Recipes.

Support for WGBH is provided by:
Become a WGBH sponsor
Sign Up

Sign-up for WGBH Food & Wine updates, Craving Boston updates, WGBH promotions, and previews of what's coming up on WGBH TV.
 

   

 

RELATED CONTENT


ChefSteps
Craving Boston (Official Website)
Kitchen Vignettes
Recipes

ABOUT SIMPLY MING

Ming Tsai is the host and executive producer of the public television series Simply Ming, currently in its seventh season. Each week, Simply Ming brings mouthwatering recipes into homes across the country, both by Ming and Chefs from around the globe who join him in his Boston-area studio. 

Visit the official Simply Ming website>>

 

myWGBH

Simply Ming Showtimes

Todd English Sat. Jun 23 at 8:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Lidia Bastianich Sat. Jun 23 at 9:30 PM WGBH CREATE
Rick Bayless Sat. Jun 23 at 10:30 PM WGBH CREATE
Jacques Pepin Sun. Jun 24 at 12:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Andreas Viestad Sun. Jun 24 at 1:30 PM WGBH CREATE
Todd English Sun. Jun 24 at 2:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Lidia Bastianich Sun. Jun 24 at 3:30 PM WGBH CREATE
Rick Bayless Sun. Jun 24 at 4:30 PM WGBH CREATE
Amanda Freitag Mon. Jun 25 at 7:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Amanda Freitag Tue. Jun 26 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Rick Bayless Fri. Jun 29 at 7:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Rick Bayless Sat. Jun 30 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Langoustine & Tomatoes with Chef Axel Bjorn Claussen Sat. Jun 30 at 2:00 PM WGBH 2
Langoustine & Tomatoes with Chef Axel Bjorn Claussen Sun. Jul 1 at 1:30 PM WGBX 44
Tiffani Faison Mon. Jul 2 at 7:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Tiffani Faison Tue. Jul 3 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Mathew Peters Fri. Jul 6 at 7:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Mathew Peters Sat. Jul 7 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Minnesota Episode with Jamie Malone Sat. Jul 7 at 2:00 PM WGBH 2
Minnesota Episode with Jamie Malone Sun. Jul 8 at 1:30 PM WGBX 44
Ken Oringer Mon. Jul 9 at 7:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Ken Oringer Tue. Jul 10 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Mom and Pops Fri. Jul 13 at 7:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Mom and Pops Sat. Jul 14 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Fish & Chips with Chef Craig Maw Sat. Jul 14 at 2:00 PM WGBH 2
Fish & Chips with Chef Craig Maw Sun. Jul 15 at 1:30 PM WGBX 44
Adam Richman Mon. Jul 16 at 7:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Adam Richman Tue. Jul 17 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Joanne Chang Fri. Jul 20 at 7:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Joanne Chang Sat. Jul 21 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Chef Simon Hulstone Sat. Jul 21 at 2:00 PM WGBH 2
Chef Simon Hulstone Sun. Jul 22 at 1:30 PM WGBX 44
Chris Hastings Mon. Jul 23 at 7:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Chris Hastings Tue. Jul 24 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Jamie Bissonnette Fri. Jul 27 at 7:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Jamie Bissonnette Sat. Jul 28 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Chef Daniel Galmiche Sat. Jul 28 at 2:00 PM WGBH 2
Chef Daniel Galmiche Sun. Jul 29 at 1:30 PM WGBX 44
Seamus Mullen Mon. Jul 30 at 7:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Seamus Mullen Tue. Jul 31 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Leah Cohen Fri. Aug 3 at 7:00 PM WGBH CREATE
Leah Cohen Sat. Aug 4 at 12:30 AM WGBH CREATE
Tiffani Faison Sat. Aug 4 at 2:00 PM WGBH 2

Forgot your my WGBH Password?

Not a problem. Just enter the username you used to register below.


Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Forgot your my WGBH Password?

Instructions on how to reset your Password have been sent.
Check your email to continue.

Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Forgot your my WGBH Username?

Not a problem. Just enter the email address you used to register below.


Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Forgot your my WGBH Username?

Instructions on how to reset your Username have been sent.
Check your email to continue.

Or CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT

Register for myWGBH